Prof. Etim Moses Essien, (OFR, NNOM, FAS, MD, FRCPath, FIMCPath, TWAS Laureate in Medicine)

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, NNOM has approved the appointment of Professor Etim M. Essien, NNOM as Chairman, Governing Board of the Nigerian National Merit Award.

The appointment is to complete the unexpired tenure of the late past Chairman of the Board Professor F. S. Idachaba, NNOM who passed away in August, 2014.

Professor Essien is a Laureate of the Nigerian National Order of Merit who bagged the prestigious NNOM award in the field of Medicine in 1997.

He has served humanity in many capacities as the Founding member of the association of Pathologist of Nigeria and he is the author of over 100 scientific publications, including contributions in thirteen books.

He is a renowned Professor of Haemotalogy with, more than forty (40) years of experience and worked at University of Ibadan as clinical scientist.

Professor Essien contributed to the field of medicine and public health and he is an awardee of the national honour of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR).

He established several medical schools in Nigeria and abroad, including the University of Gambia Medical School, University of Calabar Medical College.

Professor Essien at various times has been Chairman, National Expert Advisory Committee on AIDS (1986-1989); Head, Laboratory and Blood Transfusion Service Committee, National AIDS Committee (1989); Member, International Society for Thrombosis and Haemostasis Science (1973); Member, Medical Advisory Board on AIDS; World Federation of Haemophilia (1976); 1st African Vice- President, European and African Division, International Society of Haematology (1984-1988); Member, American Association for the advancement of Science; Member WHO expert Panel on Blood; Fellow, Nigerian Medical College in Pathology (1971-)Fellow, West African College of Physicians (1976) and member, Royal College of Pathologists (1981).